

President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Public Meeting Agenda DRAFT January 9, 2015

National Academy of Sciences (NAS) 2101 Constitution Avenue, NW Washington, DC

Lecture Room

(Timing is approximate)

9:00 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs

John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director,

Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST

Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST

9:05 am International Environmental Developments (Lima; US-China Announcement)

Kelly Gallagher, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)

10:00 am Lab-to-Market Progress

Doug Rand, Assistant Director for Entrepreneurship, Office of Science and

Technology Policy (OSTP)

10:45 am Break

11:00 am Aging in America: How can S&T help?

Atul Gawande, Executive Director, Ariadne Labs, Surgeon, Brigham & Women's Hospital and Professor, Harvard School of Public Health and Harvard Medical School

Molly Joel Coye, Chief Innovation Officer, UCLA Health System

11:45 am Public Comment

12:00 pm Adjourn Public Session



THE PRESIDENT'S COUNCIL OF ADVISORS ON SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY Member List

The President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) is an advisory group of the nation's leading scientists and engineers, appointed by the President to augment the science and technology advice available to him from inside the White House and from cabinet departments and other Federal agencies. PCAST is consulted about and provides analyses and recommendations concerning a wide range of issues where understandings from the domains of science, technology, and innovation may bear on the policy choices before the President. PCAST is administered by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). For more information about PCAST, see http://www.whitehouse.gov/ostp/pcast.

John P. Holdren, Co-Chair

Assistant to the President for Science and Technology Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Eric S. Lander, Co-Chair

President and Director Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

William Press, Vice-Chair

Raymer Professor in Computer Science and Integrative Biology University of Texas at Austin

Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair

Honeywell (Ret.)

Rosina Bierbaum

Professor, School of Natural Resources and Environment University of Michigan

Christine Cassel

President and CEO National Quality Forum

Christopher Chyba

Professor of Astrophysical Sciences and International Affairs Director, Program on Science and Global Security Princeton University

S. James Gates, Jr.

John S. Toll Professor of Physics Director, Center for String and Particle Theory University of Maryland, College Park

Mark Gorenberg

Founder and Managing Director Zetta Venture Partners

Susan L. Graham

Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Emerita University of California, Berkeley

J. Michael McQuade

Senior Vice President for Science & Technology United Technologies Corporation

Chad Mirkin

George B. Rathmann Professor of Chemistry Director, International Institute for Nanotechnology Northwestern University

Mario J. Molina

Distinguished Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry University of California, San Diego Professor, Center for Atmospheric Sciences Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Craig Mundie

President Mundie & Associates

Ed Penhoet

Director, Alta Partners Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Public Health University of California, Berkeley

Barbara Schaal

Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor of Biology Washington University, St. Louis

Eric Schmidt

Executive Chairman Google, Inc.

Daniel Schrag

Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology Professor, Environmental Science and Engineering Director, Harvard University Center for Environment Harvard University

Staff

Marjory Blumenthal, Executive Director, PCAST Ashley Predith, Assistant Executive Director, PCAST Diana Pankevich, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow